While scrolling through my google reader earlier today, I found a very interesting article by Maggie Shiels of the BBC News entitled Say goodbye to the computer mouse. Touch screens and facial recognition devices are becoming more and more popular due to the popularity of gaming, resulting in innovations such as the Nintendo Wii. Of course, another perspective is presented by Logitech’s senior VP, Rory Dooley, who says that sales of mice and keyboards have continued to sell.
As an avid iPhone junkie, I love the ease of navigation using a touch screen. Moreover, with the introduction last week of 2.0 and the App Store, I feel like we are just scratching the surface! (More than a few times my six year old and I have used PhoneSaber over the past week to have an impromptu lightsaber duel!)
This also brings to mind the elimination of the traditional keyboard. The iPhone, of course, integrates its keyboard into the touch screen, and, though advanced, this is far from exclusive technology. (Any Walmart shoppers use the self-check out?) Just for fun, check out these keyboards that were “dugg” earlier this year!

